Chapter 60

Please consider white listing this website from your ad-blocker as this will support me to keep this site running. Thanks!

Even after sunset, the town of L’Ecole is still bustling with activity. In this town filled with mercenaries, this time of the day is time for bars and brothels to make money.

In contrast, the reception of mercenary guild was quiet. Sitting cross-legged on the sofa, gazing out to the hustle and bustle of the town, I wat to throw out all the troublesome things away and join the fun.

[By all means huh?]

[There’s no other way to do it]

I answered immediately to Arngeil’s question, the guild master of the mercenary guild. We had talked about this many times and we thought about it for days but in the end, there’s nothing more we could do.

The mercenary group <Dawn of War> will be disbanded.

Arngeil falls silent again at my words.

I cannot say that I am no responsible and I also understand that there was nothing we could do.

The problems that the mercenary guild have been facing for may year cannot be solved by a single man and even more so if the government is behind it. In fact the guild has done their best especially in this case.

I am truly grateful to Arngeil because without his help, I wouldn’t be able to get the full amount to the commission that I was purposely given.

Nobles are really such a pain in the ass.

Currently half of our members have no access to weapons or armor and 70% are wounded, then we received a request from a big shot who was upset at us because of what happened and then subvert their expectation and succeeded, and with the help of such rewards we are able to successfully revived our group. What a great fairy tale right?

But what really happened? The head of the giant viper was brought back as proof of subjugation that shows that something unusual happened, we are asked to we have to keep our mouth shut due to the peculiarity of the events. It’s hard to explain what happened and who in their right mind would believe our story?

Now, if we don’t get out of here before the next forced commission comes, our lives would be in in danger, fortunately we completed the subjugation request hence I can give out the rewards to my members and then disband the group. I’m sure they can live with it, I thank you guild master.

I’m not much of an incompetent that I wouldn’t stop sending my people to their death.

[More importantly, I’m sure those noble wouldn’t let me off the hook just because our group disband, right?]

[Yeah, that’s right. They’re not going to let you off the hook, that’s just how those noble works]

Leaning back on the sofa and looking up at the ceiling, I blurted out:

[What a boring way to die]

I am prepared to die in the battlefield, but this ending wants me to file some complaints.

[You’re to become the bait for the new species]

[I really am stuck with that guy huh….]

(and this time it might not work just like what happened with that Onee-san, but there must be a way to do it)

There’s hope albeit slim.

(Now all I need is something to use to negotiate with him… Will a magic potion work?)

The problem is how would I communicate with him, but even if I started practicing drawing now… it would be best to have someone teach me now…

While I was thinking, Arngeil leaned forward and asked me with a serious expression.

[Do you have a plan?]

[Well, it’s not much of a plan but rather I was thinking of how could I survive.]

[Against that thing?]

He’s probably aware of it. Base on reports of that new species’ strength, he decided that I wouldn’t be able to survive the fight.

He’s correct

That new species is not something a human can fight.

[I want to hear your honest opinion, Orlando. How powerful do you think that new species is?]

[It’s a natural disaster. It’s something that can be treated same as a dragon]

I answered immediately. I am that sure of that assessment.

[Impossible…]

[Probably. I never heard of heroes that existed in this country who could fight a dragon. Only heroes from the great war, when the empire exists might be able to. Now? Fighting it is a fool’s errand]

He ponders with my assessment.

[From 200 years ago, or if it’s an elf?]

His thought leaks out slightly.

[Well if there’s someone you don’t want to die, then don’t let them near him, his abnormality isn’t just his power but also his threatening level of intelligence]

[Speaking of which… you said something about lacks of death in that battle. What do you mean by that you were played?]

I nod at Arngeil’s word but my answer is still the same.

Considering the anomaly that I saw that day, I don’t thin Deira’s guess that he <sees human’s as toys> is wrong. It would have been nice if we can use it against him but unfortunately humans aren’t strong enough to take advantage of it.

[Playing with them while understanding the difference in fighting prowess with humans, huh… that was truly a threat]

(The fact that he uses fire and lives a civilized life… No even that may have been a game for him… I have to keep this information a secret just as we decided to)

Who in the world would believe such a story in the first place. No matter how truthful I spoke I would only end up being treated as a crazy fool. The worst-case scenario is that rumors might spread that since our group can’t handled the situation, we started disseminating nonsense to hide our failure. If that happens, I wouldn’t be able to start up another mercenary guild. I may have disbanded the group now, but I knew that they wouldn’t be able to quit a life of a mercenary, so I believe that I can start a new that’s why I shouldn’t let bad rumors to start.

[I forgot to mention…]

Arngeil who was thinking deeply, suddenly look up

[The new monster’s name is now decided. It will now be called <Argos> and those nobles was very enthusiastic at naming it]

Hearing this a dry laugh escaped my mouth. We then ended up both laughing.

We then talked about other things after our drinks are delivered, but as the night goes on I knew that the time to go is nearing.

He then get up and I followed suit. I took the documents from the small bag that I brought along. It was the application for disbandment of my mercenary group.

[I brought here the application for disbandment of my mercenary group. Please take a look at them]

I said in the formal tone while handing over the documents.

[I Arngeil, the guild master of L’Ecole’s Mercenary guild hereby accepts the disbandment of Dawn of War]

For a moment, we are frozen in the same posture and tat the same time blurted:

[No let’s be honest here- I’m not going to tell you -]

I’ve been a mercenary for a long time and I’m not good at formalities

[Then again, there’s no need to be formal about this is it?]

Arngeil looked at me bursting in laughter

[Shut up it’s a ceremony. A Ceremony!]

[Oh, that’s right you dreamed to be a knight when you are young. That’s why you become a mercenary]

I click my tongue at those words

[That was eighteen years huh… time flies by so fast]

[Yeah, the kid who didn’t know how to talk have now come this far and now everybody recognized you]

[And some don’t]

I was embarrassed but what he said was true.

[Now all I have to figure out is how to convince that tomboy pouting in the clinic]

[What? You didn’t tell her?]

Arngeil responded

[There’re still some guys who are hard to persuade. So, any suggestion?]

Chapter 60

Did you enjoy reading the work? Want to read more? head over to Ko-fi or Patreon and be a member!

Leave a comment